November 20, 1977

Recommended by Chaunce, and gifted by Sarah’s mom, The Violence of Love has become a devotional of sorts as I’ve woken up to these snow-filled mornings. The book consists of quips and excerpts from the multitude of homilies Oscar Romero issued via radio while serving as the Archbishop of El Salvador from 1977-1980, before being assassinated. As stated by Chaunce, if you want to know true liberation theology, look to this man.

I’m not looking to discuss liberation theology, however. Instead, below is an inspiring passage both for myself and those who sometimes wonder at the purpose of their working life, or simply their life in general. For myself, monotony is more present now than it ever was in school, and with the day-to-day grind, I’ve slowly become numb to daily routines.  But that numbness doesn’t have to exist, especially with the value that each day holds. Though the context to which Romero is speaking is different from my own, he nonetheless provides a lucid picture of what it means to witness:

“How beautiful will be the day
when all the baptized understand
that their work, their job,
is a priestly work,
that just as I celebrate Mass at this altar,
so each carpenter celebrates Mass at his workbench,
and each metalworker,
each professional,
each doctor with the scalpel,
the market woman at her stand,
is performing a priestly office!

How many cabdrivers, I know, listen to this message there in their cabs;
you are a priest at the wheel, my friend,
if you work with honesty,
consecrating that taxi of yours to God,
bearing a message of peace and love
to the passengers who ride in your cab.”

~ by Chris Kyle on January 20, 2012.

2 Responses to “November 20, 1977”

  1. Tis not what you do, my son, but how you do it.

  2. Breaths of fresh air. That’s what each of his homilies were for me. I’m glad they can be that for you too. People might argue that he’s not liberation theology (I think Oscar would have too), but when it comes down to it the way those homilies are written are such that I couldn’t help but feel that he was motivated by the core of what liberation theology strove to be.

Leave a Reply

 
