on and on and on it goes

This last month has been a mixture of scrounging for work, eventually finding it, adjusting to the transition, and gaining perspective on elements of life I – and many others, I’m sure – take for granted.

First, I’d simply like to say that Fred Hutch is a brilliant place. I find myself enjoying work day in and out, and though I am 20+ years younger than all my coworkers, I’m continually treated with respect. People are incredibly and unbelievably friendly, and never have I found myself intimidated, pressured, demeaned, or invalidated on any accord. I feel as if I’m becoming disillusioned about what typical American work culture looks like. But then again, most perceptions I have on the matter stem from media, so who knows. Regardless, I’m extremely and utterly thankful for this opportunity.

Theology. Bah, I still don’t know what to say or do about this word, as it both frustrates and intrigues me depending on what first fills my head. I’m not as embittered as I once was at the subject since graduating, but I’m nowhere near a healthy, reconciled point that drives me to study it once again. However, when asked at work what I studied in college, my ability to say Christian Theology has sparked some interesting and thoughtful conversations. I’ve met a fair amount of Christians that way, too. In the meantime, I’m simply trying to figure out what it means to be faithful in what I believe to be true. Here’s a brief list I wrote out while at church today:

1)      God loves us (and me)

2)      All things either have, can and/or will be redeemed through Christ

3)      We are made in the image of God

Each has some fairly powerful implications that come with them. Christianity is, after all, the richest, most vibrant tradition/concept/organism I’ve ever encountered.

Jake was in town this weekend. We spent a fair share of our Saturday night feasting on the nostalgia met in Bellevue Square. However, in between it all we attended his church that got me hooked on this song. It was good to see the guy. I hadn’t realized how much I’d missed him.

I’m starting to have questions on social class disparities once again, and what my (our) role as a Christian(s) should be to systemic injustices. The difference between now and the past, however, is that I’m seeing the oppression against people I know instead of having to work from mere theory like I used to. As such, and this actually deals more with the topic of race (though race and class are and forever will be intimately linked) I’m starting to read Age of Iron by J.M. Coetzee to help get me back into the frame of mind for what will most likely be another heavy season.

Lastly, some marvelous developments with Tent City are in the midst of us. I hope to speak more on the issue by the end of the week, but for now we’ll just have to wait, like usual. Perhaps for the last time, though…

~ by Chris Kyle on November 6, 2011.

3 Responses to “on and on and on it goes”

  1. Age of Iron is a beautiful classic – excellent choice. Also, for further South American literature, I’d suggest “The Power of One” by Bryce Courtenay. I believe it’s considered the classic novel of South Africa, and I just consider it one of my favorite books upon the shelf.

  2. http://www.spu.edu/depts/ugadm/etc/magazine/2011-autumn/outside-the-lines.asp

  3. hey man. Love the thoughts, Dunno if you saw this, but Walter Brueggeman posted this on huffington post:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/walter-brueggemann/joshua-2413a-1425_b_1070263.html?ref=religion

    You might really like it. I just got embroiled in a facebook debate over it and my resulting thoughts. blahhhh.

    I’m glad you’re still thinking and processing challenging stuff my friend. I’d love to hear your thoughts in person when you get time!

Leave a Reply

 
