impaled

I’m realizing many of the blogs I follow are chalked full of pictures or images to convey what’s going down in their life. I’ve tried to jump on this bandwagon before, but I can never seem to get the hang of it.

But I’m going to try again. And if I succeed, I may just convert to Tumblr.

I started this book yesterday, and it’s quickly taking me back through the last couple months of my life where I learned about the deconstruction of race within America. The first chapter starts with this sexy quip by a civil rights activist and writer:

“People who imagine that history flatters them (as it does, indeed, since they wrote it) are impaled on their history like a butterfly on a pin and become incapable of seeing or changing themselves, or the world. This is the place in which it seems to me, most white Americans find themselves. Impaled. They are dimly, or vividly, aware that the history they have fed themselves is mainly a lie, but they do not know how to release themselves from it, and they suffer enormously from the resulting personal incoherence.”

 

~ by Chris Kyle on July 1, 2011.

One Response to “impaled”

  1. wow.

    also, “sexy quip.”

Leave a Reply

 
