memoirs for all

I’ve indulged in an awfully large amount of stories lately. Through books or films or listening to people talk, I’ve had my fair share and it’s been absolutely delightful. In fact, I’m currently sitting in the local library of my neighborhood, and I just picked up a card that grants me access to any item in the greater Seattle area. Oh my, oh my.

While in Camden I told the directors and kids that I aspired to be a storyteller. I once read about this man who sought to be a troubadour, singing of the woes and pleasures of this world through song, but I’d much rather write and speak about them through mediums and prose of my own. This pertains mostly through writing, but in the verbal sense I suppose I’ll have to make dabs here and there. I simply believe that stories have this profound ability to inspire all of humanity. Though there’s perhaps a more educated reason for this, I firmly believe that Jesus spoke in parables for the grand reason that stories exist, affect, and permeate through and in every culture that has existed. We each have one, and I’m fairly confident most all of us wishes to share it in some capacity. Or, at least, I don’t think we’d be nearly as happy of people if the hope found in stories was never spoken. But maybe that’s just me.

Regardless, I’m beginning to find more purpose within these ample amounts of tales I find myself consuming. I find that they help to enhance the virtues the Scripture calls us to. Though sufficient in and of itself, I think that all stories outside the Bible are a healthy supplement to those who know what is written with the Old and New Testaments. I’ve been reading the Chronicles of Prydain, a children’s series by Lloyd Alexander, which provides characters with lines such as “Every living thing deserves our respect… be it humble or proud, ugly or beautiful,” and, “Is there glory enough in living the days given to us? You should know there is adventure in simply being among those we love and the things we love, and beauty, too.” Or, in this memoir I started today called The Glass Castle, the author writes about her dysfunctional childhood, and speaks to aspects of the human experience that I wouldn’t have comprehended if she hadn’t invited me into her story. Of what she writes I can see glimpse of within Jesus’ hyperbolic parables, but in degrees beyond due to her personal, intimate description. All of these stories show us a world that is paradoxically not our own, but one we must equally own for ourselves.

And I think this is exactly what Christ seeks to do in speaking those multilayered anecdotes.

~ by Chris Kyle on June 1, 2011.

One Response to “memoirs for all”

  1. your thoughts are good my friend. Keep ’em comin.

Leave a Reply

 
