p.a.r.t.i.c.i.p.a.t.i.o.n.

In his sermon on Sunday, Pastor Richard said that the world had begun to fail in sustaining itself. And that had me thinking:

“When we attempt to change the world, we really need to think about whether this change is possible, and what we tend to expect from it. Moreover, a lot of what we want to change may be successful in the moment, but is it actually sustainable? Is humanity capable of redeeming brokenness?”

I don’t think so. I think there may be times of change, but our goal, no matter how big or noble, will never be good enough. God’s going to be the one to restore everything. (It should be noted that I’m taking this from the perspective that the eschaton is not contingent upon the Church’s activity within creation. New Jerusalem will inevitably come, regardless of what I do. I’m not actually sure if this is true or not – I still wrestle with it – but for the sake of what is written below, let’s roll with this assumption, shall we?).

So then I wonder – why should I even participate? Isn’t it futile for me to work in something that is in a downward spiral of unsustainability and will ultimately be redeemed anyway?

I asked this question to my capstone professor yesterday and he was affirming in telling me that it wasn’t the question I was asking that was incorrect. Instead, he said the answer I was seeking was what was off, and then continued on in his own brilliance.

He stated that I was looking at my vocation as a means to an end. I was looking at how my readiness to participate in the redemption of creation was a ladder geared towards fulfillment. And this is dehumanizing of myself. It’s enslaving. Our purpose as humanity has no purpose other than to participate. To love and be loved. Israel’s existence was their vocation because they were chosen. The point isn’t what I am to do, but to live into the nature of my existence – which is to be in community. My vocation is my relationship to another. My vocational calling is to humanize the world.

Now what does all this mean in a practical and day-to-day sense? Still trying to figure that one out. And as I do, I’ll let you know. In the meantime, I feel alleviation from understanding that my participation in God’s Kingdom is enough.

Praise God.

~ by Chris Kyle on May 11, 2011.

2 Responses to “p.a.r.t.i.c.i.p.a.t.i.o.n.”

  1. Bro. That’s trinitarian theology in effect right there! We participate in the life and work of God. That means we can just allow ourselves to be led! There’s some sense of peace in that, even if it’s just a “Well…we’re going somewhere.” sort of peace. Keep up the good posts ace.

  2. Gosh. Thank you for always challenging my thinking. Thank you a million times over. It’s because of friends like you that I have come to understand my faith my part in God’s redemption of the world. You, Sarah and I really need to get nachos soon and talk about this stuff. Makes me excited for summer. very much so.

Leave a Reply

 
