just a post

Upon logging into WordPress, one of the blogs on the front page caught my eye: 10 Fascinating Last Letters Written.

It’s interesting reading them and seeing the varying eschatological hopes these people have. Not only that, it’s intriguing to read about what many found their purpose of life to be while alive. The rawness of the words and the genuine love portrayed only strengthen my joy found in writing and language.

And all this leads me to my initial reason for posting. I know I’ve put these lyrics up before, but I rediscovered this song in my library this evening. It’s called Friendly Jas by Cool Hand Luke. No real thoughts on it, I just wanted to share:

It was a blessed day–
The day that I met you
Though at the time
I didn’t have a clue
As iron sharpens iron so does one man another
And that’s what God intended us to do

Flowers fall and seasons change
And you know how we treat the rain
In times of drought we pray it comes
And when it falls we turn and run
The moon is new, you’ve left your seat
The time has come to go in peace
With my own hand the bow was strung
The arrow shot now falls beyond

I thank my God for every
Memory of you
The lessons learned and
The way the Spirit moved
I remember hearing “church is more than just a building”
I remember when we proved it true

Flowers fall and seasons change
And you know how we treat the rain
In times of drought we pray it comes
And when it falls we turn and run
The moon is new; you’ve left your seat
The time has come to go in peace
With my own hand the bow was strung
The arrow shot now falls beyond

That day, I could have stared at the ocean forever
With a song for every grain beneath my feet
We were so young and brilliantly naïve
To the joy and the pain and the days that we would see

Everything has changed
But our hope remains the same
I want you to know that I’ll be here
Through a hundred years of rain

Together we run into what we do not know
Trusting our God who made tomorrow

~ by Chris Kyle on May 4, 2011.

2 Responses to “just a post”

  1. I liked that a lot man. Especially the last bit.

  2. this is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
