hey. we’re almost there.

Somebody told me the other day that we graduate in 50 days.

The first memory I have of public schooling was when I was in kindergarten and Paul Brassfield tied his shoelaces in front of me. I looked down at my Velcro kicks and asked him how long he’s known how to do that. He said for about a year. I was jealous and went home and asked my parents to teach me. Never would I have thought myself on the verge of finishing school sixteen years later. Let alone have tied thousands of knots.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

The house, a few other friends, and I spent yesterday evening discussing gender roles, inherent gender traits or abilities, and Scriptural authority over marital relationships. It was quite fruitful despite presence of the other gender… I think we all agreed more than we admitted, or even conceived, but I also think there were some stark differences, especially in the way we interpreted the Bible. And I’m learning to be okay with that. I think part of it is that interpretation of Scripture doesn’t (and shouldn’t) produce one specific and sole answer, and the other part, which caters slightly to the first, is that I no longer believe in the inerrancy of the Bible.

Now don’t freak out on me. It’s still authoritative within my own life, and in fact, I’d say I have a bit more reverence for the text than I initially had. If you want to know my reasons for this belief, feel free to give me a call.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Now here’s my shotgun of updates:

I have a second interview with World Vision next week. It’s with the USA division, as I mentioned a while back, and HR said they were real interested in getting to meet me. Thank You, Lord, for such an opportunity.

My Bethany Community membership class is done, and now I only have to wait for a sponsor to meet with me and then I can officially be inaugurated in! The ceremony is on July 24th.

I feel like Taylor Long for doing this, but some films I’ve recently watched are:

La Belle et la Bête
Bonnie and Clyde

And I plan on watching in the following week:

Inside Job
Blow Out
Crimes and Misdemeanors 

~ by Chris Kyle on April 21, 2011.

5 Responses to “hey. we’re almost there.”

  1. excellent intro.

    when are we watching the inside job?

    and i’ll be there for your membership service! bravo!

  2. brother. Smooth developments. Glad to hear you’re doing well. I take it those of us in Seattle might be blessed with your presence next year?

  3. Also, you’re better off without inerrancy.

  4. Dang…during our easter egg hunt, I would’ve loved to hear more about these ideas. Meet up again on thursday for a small hunt? Care to share?

  5. A belated thank you for the shout out. Sorry I don’t check your blog very often.

Leave a Reply

 
