Camden: Night 10

I feel like I should give a little recap of all that’s happened the past couple days – aside from my feelings.

Here’s a pictorial tribute:

 

My home for the week. I couldn't get the full shot (or didn't yet know how to use the wide angle setting), but this is the gist of it. Normally those tables are covered with newspaper because the kids can get out of control. I'm going to miss this place.

A collage of pictures and words the describe, "What helps you fly." It's now on a massive posterboard hanging from the wall. Color has never struck me as strongly as it does here.

The local ministry I was talking about earlier, Sacred Heart, made this clay oven with the help of the kids. Every Friday the neighborhood gathers round and cooks whatever food is grown in the garden or greenhouse. Beautiful.

This is part of their garden. As you can see, their food is grown in a bathtub. It was salvaged from some abandoned house nearby. They have loads of these within the greenhouse. Almost any vegetable you can think of is grown around in this space as well. Their creativity is astounding.

Boatworks! An afterschool program that Urban Promise offers pertains to the art of building canoes and kayaks that will later be used to float the Delaware River. And yes, those are sixth graders measuring out the drill holes. They use anything from sanders to hammers to drill guns. About six boats have been made in the last year and a half.

New York. This was taken from Central Park right before the sun set. The city certainly isn't my favorite, but I can appreciate it for what it is. There's just too much hustle and bustle for my liking. I'll stick to Seattle, thanks.

Times Square. It was absolute chaos over here. However, I felt a little better about my overwhelming circumstance in knowing that I was legitimately happier than every single person driving their car along these roads. You can't deny me that.

Finally, the close to an epic day. Goodbye for now, New York. Don't expect me to come back unless I'm with a person curious of your allure.

~ by Chris Kyle on December 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Camden: Night 10”

  1. chris these are FANTASTIC. you have a good eye.

  2. Beautiful. Love the color wall, love the sky line, love the kids and the boat. Also I will one day grow a little garden in a tub…most ingenious thing I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

 
