surely we can change

Things I’ve been thinking about this week:

The stock we put in our name becomes a powerful force that combats the ability to claim God as our provider. The prestige, reputation, and glory we seek for ourselves through leadership, résumés, and self-guided dreams can often be the death to the Identity we were made to assume.

I haven’t been asking the question of “Why?” enough. If I’m called to be conscientious of all the decisions I make (for the sake and glory of the Kingdom), then why do I still spend my time so flippantly? Why did I keep my door shut, blockaded from my housemates all evening? Why didn’t I pray this morning, but instead playing this damned Scrabble game? Why didn’t I ask that homeless man if he wanted any food as I walked into the grocery store? I’d like to reach the point where I can fall asleep at night knowing that I’d committed my day to the Lord through prayer of how I should spend my time, and then actually fulfilling what was asked of me. Day 1: Go.

“Who among you is wise and understanding? Let him show by his good behavior his deeds in the gentleness of wisdom. But if you have bitter jealousy and selfish ambition in your heart, do not be arrogant and so lie against the truth.” James 3.12-14. My life has been filled with people I trust and respect; all with wisdom and patience for my selfish self. Thank You, Lord.

~ by Chris Kyle on October 21, 2010.

One Response to “surely we can change”

  1. sanctification! all the choices of our lives for the glory of the Kingdom. these are good questions. i’ll try to ask accountability questions of you more often. and you’ll do the same for me?

Leave a Reply

 
