birthday wishes

My birthday is over. I’m officially 21, have a stomach ache from the homemade margaritas  my dad and I endeavored (I had half a cup), and am more than ready to sleep the night away before a busy Saturday.

But I’ve never felt more loved. Here’s why:

Sarah spent the last month or so compiling letters from all my friends (most likely you reading this) in which they said some of the most affirming and gracious words I’ve ever received. Knowing I would be in Boise, she decided what better than to create a gift consisting of a fantastic box filled with homemade notes from the people I hold dearest. What’s great was how oblivious I was to the entire thing. Notes were passed under my nose (Alex), handed off as I walked by (Cam), and even swept away from my desk moments before I appeared (Natalie).

When Sarah handed the box over I was completely blown away at the fact that 1) she would put the time into doing something like this, and 2) people would take the time to be so overly courteous. All of you, expect a personal thank-you coming your way in due time. I truly am in awe. Sarah, my love, you treat me far too well. And Lord, I thank You for her and each and every one of these people.

I’d love to write more, but we are waking up early tomorrow and my grandpa is taking us shooting. Sarah’s first time with a shotgun = massive bruise on Sarah’s shoulder.

I’ll post pictures.

~ by Chris Kyle on June 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “birthday wishes”

  1. I am so glad that it all turned out and that you didn’t find out beforehand. Hope you are having a wonderful time at home and I can’t wait to see you when you come back.

  2. 🙂 hooray! I loved it when Mel handed me the box of notes she had collected. I have never received a more personal or more meaningful gift in my life. I hope you were blessed my friend, because you indeed have been a blessing. Can’t wait to snag dinner with you and Sarah soon.

Leave a Reply

 
