Simple and Clean

I’ve decided to write on a note card each day of Scriptural texts I need to remember, and tasks of God I need to pursue. Today I had written:

1)      Confess your sins to Sarah

2)      “Now Joshua was clothed with filthy garments and standing before the angel. He spoke and said to those who were standing before him, saying, ‘Remove the filthy garments from him.’ Again he said to him, “See, I have taken your iniquity away from you and will clothe you with festal robes.’” – Zechariah 3:4

3)      Psalm 81:8-16

4)      Pray your heart matches your actions. Find joy in God’s works.

I’m remembering the goodness of God and the transforming ability He has in molding and reshaping my life. People always talk about the “Potter and the Clay,” and I feel as if I’m trying to assume both roles. God perfects me bit by bit, creating a masterpiece fit for His Kingdom, but then inevitably, I take the reins and slowly shape myself into something less perfect, less beautiful. Sometimes I’m nothing more than a sloppy mess strewn across the spinning wheel.

When thinking of this control issue I so heavily deal with, I remember this line from a book that reads, “We are not inanimate entities that merely reveal glory, but living stories that are meant to create glory.” Yes, we are asked to reflect the glory of the Lord, but our lives aren’t simply to be a mirror that sits and waits for light to shine upon us. We move. We shift. We create. We can’t be afraid to walk out of the possibility that we may mess up. We can’t be afraid to respond because that may alter our path in life. We need to remember His promises, and trust that they are true.

I’m reading Kierkegaard right now and a quote from his book reads, “He who loved himself became great in himself, and he who loved others became great in devotion, but he who loved God became greater than all.” Who are we trying to glorify, and what are we doing in making this happen? I think it should be noted how secondary our story is in comparison to that in which God works. And we won’t know this grand glory of the adventure until we take that next step.

Lastly, I have written down a line that Richard said in a sermon last summer: “God is delighted in you as He was a thousand failures ago.” I’m so utterly thankful for this truth. To be delighted in by someone creates a warmth that we all rarely experience. But we can taste this daily. If we aren’t first consumed by ourselves.

~ by Chris Kyle on May 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “Simple and Clean”

  1. DUDE. I JUST READ that part of Fear and Trembling yesterday. Kierkegaard is my favorite.

  2. i like this idea! in chapel planning meeting we have talked about this idea:

    (with few exceptions) it matters less WHAT you’re doing, and more HOW you do it.

    in other words, are we being ethical in our work? that’s why we liked hearing from the fruit orchard people–they are clearly doing the will of God in the way they run their business, even though it is something as unglamorous as growing fruit.

  3. ok scratch this. this was supposed to go on your post today.

Leave a Reply

 
