Hosea

“I will betroth you to Me forever; Yes, I will betroth you to Me in righteousness and in justice, in lovingkindness and in compassion, and I will betroth you to Me in faithfulness. Then you will know the LORD. ‘It will come about in that day that I will respond,’ declares the LORD. I will respond to the heavens, and they will respond to the earth, and the earth will respond to the grain, to the new wine and ot the oil, and they will respond toe Jezreel.

I will sow her for Myself in the land. I will also have compassion on her who had not obtained compassion, and I will say to those who were not My people, ‘You are My people!’ and they will say, “You are my God!”

That closing verse is perhaps my favorite text in the entire Bible. I picture God, Jesus, whoever, shouting that to the masses, which shifts to another image of billions of people shouting the response in which He hopes.  It’s a picture of allegiance and surrender, fealty and sacrifice. I think Jesus…

Bed.

~ by Chris Kyle on April 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
