Light.

I’m sick today. And have slept for about 14 hours total, which is ridiculous by the standard I’m used to. I plan on falling asleep in the next ten minutes.

I just wanted to say that I have good friends. Friends who take care of me and wish me well. Friends who give me medicine, food, and go out of their way to make sure I’m doing all right. I think this is a blessing I should constantly be praising God for, because not a lot of people have this, and it’s so easy to take for granted.

So here’s to you, friends, as well as You, God, for your utmost graciousness. Please grant me rest tonight so that I may pick up and finish out my final week of the quarter as a student who respected the opportunity to go to school.

When reading my Bible today there was a lot of mention about “being the Light of the world.” I’m not going to expand on this other than saying that sometimes when I go for a run, I make sure to stop by Gas Works to walk to the top of the hill. While overlooking the city I make sure I pray for it, and each time I distinctly recall asking God to redeem the darkness and cast it away. Then I imagine the city of Seattle being engulfed in this great light that expands as if it’s exploding with the radiance of God. And then, at times, I start to cry. Can you imagine a city without rape on its streets? A city where people don’t have to sleep under boxes because of personal addictions, broken relationships, or health issues? A city where prostitution has been abolished and people understand their bodies are beautiful and given as a gift from God – not to be sold out to the sinful desires of others? A city where people respect themselves, as well as others? A city of absolute solidarity and love where biases, prejudices, fears, angers, and false judgments are non-existent?

This is what a city of Light would look like, and I want to see Seattle become one. Let us pray as if we believe heaven is real, as if God answers, and as if our words actually have any stock. It’s easy to forget that we are heirs to the throne of God.

And now I shall sleep. And sleep I shall, with full belief that the cadence of my voice as I snooze away has been heard and accounted for as God overlooks our city tonight.

~ by Chris Kyle on March 9, 2010.

One Response to “Light.”

  1. I am glad you are my friend. I am certainly thankful for YOU. You have blessed me far more than you know throughout this last month of confusion and difficulty with my surgery and crap. Thank YOU for always checking in and making me laugh. You are dearly loved. by MANY people. I can’t wait till this summer when I can walk again…we have to have so many adventures. PLEASE.

Leave a Reply

 
