To be the Church of Corinth

“For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so the thoughts of God no one knows except the Spirit of God. Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may know the things freely given to us by God; which things we also speak, not in words taught by human wisdom, but in those taught by the Spirit, combining spiritual thoughts with spiritual words.

But a natural man does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually appraised. But he who is spiritual appraises all things, yet he himself is appraised by no one. For who has known the mind of the LORD, that he will instruct Him? But we have the mind of Christ.” – 1 Corinthians 11-16

We have the mind of Christ. It’s statements like this that continually echo through my head as I think about my own inadequacies in discerning good for my life. I have everything I need – so why is it so hard to make the right choice? I figure there has to be more elements to the equation that I’m missing, but at the same time I can’t help but entertain the idea that perhaps this whole “listening to God” thing is a lot simpler than we make it out to be. Either way, it’s apparent that we have the capacity to hold the Holy Spirit, and this indwelling is what separates us from making choices based of worldly wisdom.

What does that mean, though?

I think a bulk of it is lies within the assurance that we are following Jesus as long as we are being obedient to Him. To have the mind of Christ is to be obedient to God’s revelation. Our minds have been regenerated to think as Christ does. Our minds have become that which responds to conviction and our view when looking at the world no longer filters through insolent, selfish eyes, but one that is divine and holy, taking into account others and not ourselves.

I feel as if this “ah-ha” moment is fairly basic and may just leave me the only one overjoyed at the beauty of it all. And I think I’m alright with that. I read my Bible today with the intent to harness some bit of Scripture that I may remember and share with others. Sarah told me about a friend who broke down the other day and part of her consoling was by pointing this girl to various verses in Scripture. I need to start doing this more. I need to start reading without the intent for sudden fulfillment; rather, I need to read with eternity in mind, and the truth that Scripture isn’t just for my life, but those around me.

Maybe this whole memorization of Scripture thing falls under having the mind of Christ. Hmm…

Lastly, I was talking with my friend Tyler last night and recalled something I’d learned freshman year. We were talking about prayer and theology and then it hit me, “If you’re talking more about God instead of more to God, that’s when you have a problem.” I think a lot of us fall victim to this issue, and I’m sure it’s heartbreaking for both parties.

Let’s give The Man some time, shall we not?

~ by Chris Kyle on March 5, 2010.

One Response to “To be the Church of Corinth”

  1. let’s give the man some time. amen.

Leave a Reply

 
