Be Lifted High

We need to think about the times where our lives are consumed by the possibilities that we think are for ourselves when really they are never ours to take – only to be bestowed by God and humbly accepted by us.

Professor Bantum was talking about this in chapel yesterday and the whole time I was thinking about friends who needed to hear and dwell on this. Who needed to listen and accept the truth that the possibilities we see for ourselves should never be grasped with an unwavering hand, nor pursued without consultation from God’s omniscient voice. However, after last night I slowly began to realize that I needed to hear it just as much.

I’m beginning to ask myself, “In what ways am I trying to write my own story? In what ways am I trying to water my steps perfectly? In what ways am I assuming the life of the potter and not the clay?”

So I went on a walk last night and found myself asking not the questions of where I was supposed to serve next year, or where I was supposed to work this summer; rather, I expressed to Him that I was merely an open vessel wanting to be an obedient servant of sworn fealty. I didn’t throw out expectations or opportunities that I visibly saw – I simply said, “Here I am. Send me.”

I think this is what it means to live outside of expectations that we have for ourselves. To live in accordance to God’s heart and will for us. To live into the trust we have for Him. It cuts me thin, and yet I have never felt freer than I do now.

“God is groaning for us. Not in the possibilities we have for ourselves, but in the possibilities He has for us.”

As I walked I listened to these lyrics from Cool Hand Luke:

“That day, I could have stared at the ocean forever
With a song for every grain beneath my feet
We were so young and brilliantly naïve
To the joy and the pain and the days that we would see

Everything has changed
But our hope remains the same
I want you to know that I’ll be here
Through a hundred years of rain

Together we run into what we do not know
Trusting our God who made tomorrow”

Situations change but God does not. No, He is unfaltering in the only thing that matters – His love. And intertwining this with the truth that He is the one who numbers and creates our days, I think obedience will lead us down a route of utmost contentment… at least in the upside-down Kingdom.

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” – Romans 12:2

~ by Chris Kyle on February 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
