When I Go Down

I just sent off what I believe to be the best paper I’ve ever written to a man who is notorious for shredding apart UScholar papers on campus. However, he ever so gracefully helps to reconstruct them as well with the most patient and educated of means in the hopes of turning the paper into one of absolute greatness! It’s Professor Reinsma for those who’ve heard of him, and I’m going to be waiting in eager anticipation for his response on whether or not we can meet next quarter.

I don’t want to hype this too much as it’s really not that big of a deal, at least for now, but depending upon his critiques and God’s ability to work through a tight college schedule, I may soon be dropping a major to pick up a few writing courses at SPU. I’m not going to minor or anything in English, I just want the experience to aid my dream of grad school, and this seems like an excellent first step in that direction. It was quite a humbling experience too, because I was told last week that sometimes it’s hard for others to give me advice on my papers or other written works because I’m quite arrogant within that realm of things. It was a bit of a wake-up call, but too true to ignore, and definitely a contributing step in having me send my paper off. I essentially just gave away my pride and joy of college papers with full understanding, and much expectation, that I’ll likely receive a response telling me I’m not nearly as gifted as I currently believe.

I think I’m ready for that, though. And even if I’m not, it’s necessary for the sake of humility and personal ambitions, so I’ll just have to suck it up. Do what You will, God. I’m merely trying to walk whatever path you continually place before my feet… as well as eat the occasional piece of humble pie I pick up along the way.

~ by Chris Kyle on December 21, 2009.

One Response to “When I Go Down”

  1. good attitude, my friend. i’ll eagerly await his reply with you.

Leave a Reply

 
