Ruthless

“After so much stress on the necessity of a leader to prevent his own personal feelings and attitudes from interfering in a helping relationship it seems necessary to re-establish the basic principal that no one can help anyone without becoming involved, without entering with his whole person into the painful situation, without taking the risk of becoming hurt, wounded or even destroyed in the process. The beginning and the end of all Christian leadership is to give your life for others.” pg. 72

I’m starting to think this message I’ve heard for so long is about to sink in. So, God, this is what you’ve been trying to tell me this summer… thanks.

My internship starts tomorrow and I’m a bit apprehensive for it. I’m not sure what to expect nor am I sure I can fulfill the position they ask of me as well as I wish, but that’s for God to decide, isn’t it? The sermon at Bethany tonight was on Ezekiel and how so many times we have visions and dreams of what we wish to see, but rarely do they go through, leaving us with “dry bones,” if you will. However, these moments of seeming misdirection aren’t to be evaded but instead, events to lean upon. I remember a professor telling me two years ago that when we aren’t given the opportunity that we thought was so great and perfect for us, it’s usually because God’s got something even better planned. With this said, and if genuinely believed, can’t we rest assured knowing that each endeavor foiled is really the opening to an even grander venture?

But of course one responds, “It’s really not that easy, you know? I mean, come on, what about the emotional and mental attachment to each undertaking we pursue? Doesn’t that count for anything?” Well, yeah, of course, but don’t make the closed door more urgent than it needs to be. Just because something falls short of expectation doesn’t mean life is now discontinued. Even when our eyes are closed there’s a whole world out there that exists outside of ourselves and our dreams.

This “dry bones” message hinges on the message of hope as well, which makes me laugh because during this sermon, and all throughout this summer I feel like this is another topic that is finally making sense despite the fact that this was a heavy theme on campus my freshman year. Thanks, Moltmann, but your arrival was a bit premature for my liking. When we go through these dry bone spells one has to ask themselves, “Where is my hope? What is it in and if it’s not in Christ, then how do I redirect it?” It shouldn’t be on immediate circumstantial incidents but in the hope that in the midst of our devastation, God can work through the situation to create something even greater. And then we need to take the plunge. As Richard says, “We will not know the grand glory and adventure until we take that step. Our own story is so secondary in comparison to the one that God writes.”

And may we walk humbly confident in doing so.

~ by Chris Kyle on July 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
