Aun Existe Amor

“What are you willing to sacrifice for the sake of the gospel?”

“Then why haven’t you done it yet?”

God’s been merciless whenever I go to pray. He keeps asking me this question and I walk away convicted yet headstrong for where my life is headed. One can’t help but kneel when His voice causes the ground to tremble.

And that’s exactly how it’s been. Now, and this may seem a bit unorthodox, but the way I most fruitfully (and comfortably, in fact) pray is if I imagine a scene where I meet God, one-on-one, in some sort of secluded setting. Most of the times it’s some majestic forest where He’s sitting on a throne and I slowly approach the steps before Him, which leads to kneeling out of reverence and love. The vision I have during the prayer isn’t from my own eyes, though, but from an onlooker in the distance, watching as a man (myself) approaches a Holy Being. I always take on a different persona as well, whether it be a soldier, a child, a mystic, a man dressed in rags, me in everyday attire, or a bride before my bridegroom (this one isn’t as jacked up as you may think). In accordance to the multitude of characters are my different moods depending on how I feel about life or what my relationship with God currently looks like. Lately I’ve been in constant transition between a soldier and a child as I come before Him wanting to be strong, but slowly realizing my faults and unrighteousness that leaves me weeping as a young boy, frightened and ashamed. Each prayer provides such a lovely moment however, and they always grant direction and vision.

All meetings aren’t like the ones I’ve recently been having though. Sometimes God and I have a jolly ol’ time joking and talking about some of the stupid things that went on during the past week, or we have moments of affirmation and give praise to how loved on another is.

Try it out sometime. It’ll transcend your prayer life.

Plans for 4th of July fell through in such an epic manner that I’ve come to be quite discouraged about anything else that may occur. I had the chance to go to New York for free with my housemate, Cam, because he works for Alaska Airlines, but instead he decided to go to his lake place leaving me with few ideas for what to do next; none of which are better than the original. Except, there is always the potential for another Gas Works extravaganza where I rule the hill for 13 hours straight. Cam and I did this last year, but got so sunburnt it took us over a month to recover. I remember not being able to wear contacts for a month because my eyes burned so bad, aside from the rest of my body. So if anybody reading this is in Seattle and wants to live it up at Gas Works on Saturday, just give me a call and we’ll make something happen.

Oh, and if you want to go on a cruise for cheap then give me a call as well. The industry is dying a painful death and hours before they leave port they sell all open seats for cheap as crap pricing. For a 3-day cruise up into Canada you only have to pay $150 and all expenses on-board are covered. I have some dates picked out in August if you want to come.

Luke 18:9-14

“And He also told this parable to some people who trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and viewed others with contempt:

Two men went up into the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood and was praying this to himself: ‘God, I thank You that I am not like other people: swindlers, unjust, adulterers, or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week; I pay tithes of all that I get.’ But the tax collector, standing some distance away, was even unwilling to lift up his eyes to heaven, but was beating his breast, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me, the sinner!’ I tell you, this man went to his house justified rather than the other; for everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but he who humbles himself will be exalted.”

You aren’t as righteous as you think. And neither am I. May we willingly repent.

~ by Chris Kyle on July 2, 2009.

One Response to “Aun Existe Amor”

  1. I’ve read several books on how to pray like that. Its a way of seeing with your heart instead of your eyes. Its a conversation instead of sending a prayer letter format into the cosmos. There is something reassuring about it.

Leave a Reply

 
