Rest for the Weary

Psalm 81:8-16

“Hear, O My people, and I will admonish you;
O Israel, if you would listen to Me!
Let there be no strange god among you;
Nor shall you worship any foreign god.
I, the LORD, am your God,
Who brought you up from the land of Egypt;
Open your mouth wide and I will fill it.

But My people did not listen to My voice,
And Israel did not obey Me.
So I gave them over to the stubbornness of their heart,
To walk in their own devices.
Oh that My people would listen to Me,
That Israel would walk in My ways!
I would quickly subdue their enemies
And turn My hand against their adversaries.
Those who hate the LORD would pretend obedience to Him,
And their time of punishment would be forever.
But I would feed you with the finest of the wheat,
And with honey from the rock I would satisfy you.”

Lord, I weep at the weakness of my own heart and the shame I have brought to Your name. For not listening when I am so clearly told. For rebelling when I owe my very life. For hiding when my mouth speaks of how much I seek You. Lord, have mercy on my soul and may I forever listen. Do not give me over to the stubbornness of my heart; rather, snatch me up and break me of all disobedience. You, oh Redeemer, are Lord over my sinful heart, so make it pure and in accordance to Your liking.

I deserve damnation seven times over, but You will not make it so. Your grace, Your mercy, they are too great. Hear my prayer, and make it so. I shall repent forever, and come to Your table clean. But I’m weary of slipping and walking away. You have fought valiantly for me but I stand there, idle and lost. Open my eyes and give me vision. Give me courage and strength. Seal Your name upon my heart for all to see and adore. You are my King. Light. Hope.

May I never forget. May we never forget. A promise so great we cannot flee. Oh Jesus, your name is written on our souls. Our wounded. wrecked. souls.

I only wish there was a word
For what You mean to me;
I would only say it once,
In hushed tones,
So it would not grow old,
But all I have
Is “I love You”

~ by Chris Kyle on July 1, 2009.

One Response to “Rest for the Weary”

  1. I like your heart. A lot.

Leave a Reply

 
