Melodies of Life

Snap, well the first week of summer has come to a close as my stomach is currently full on sushi, carrot cake, and hot chocolate after a night of surprise birthday parties and an excellent hostess who can make/cook/brew anything you could ever ask for. Kelsie Job = Potentially the greatest aspiring homemaker known to man (or so the Baptist preacher may tell her).

The bulk of my week was spent with a little kid named Max, whom I “manny” for part-time and will continue to do so until September hits. I had the opportunity to hang out with him about a month ago to make sure we were at least somewhat compatible, and I assume I passed the test considering I was offered the job shortly after. It’s a time of simple pleasures as we draw massive Star Wars battles where, as Max makes a sure point to say, “The good guys have all the guns! Don’t give the bad guys any! We need to win every time!” This results in me being the designated drawer of the bad guys who can’t do anything but get blown up by millions of bullets shot at them. I believe I can honestly say I’ve spent around 4-5 hours this past week drawing ships solely to see them quickly colored over in black pen. Joy.

But don’t get me wrong, the job is awesome, because we always have fast-paced, merciless light saber battles shortly after our tedious drawing sessions, which leaves me feeling like war beaten king who’s survived even the most gruesome of battles. We go into his backyard, draw our sabers that are already attached to our belts, and go at it until one surrenders. Yes, Max is seven, but the moment you give this kid a weapon he turns into a demi-god warrior ready to kill anything that comes at him. Violently (and quite aimlessly, I might add) he slashes his saber towards my unprotected body, which thrusts me into survival mode in the hopes that I walk away with as little bruises as possible. Initially I’d get hit, feel a sting, and realize I can stop this intensity at any moment being three times his age, but where’s the fun in that? I’m not called a manny for nothing! So I take each blow, wince, and eventually learn that despite his random swings, I can defend myself quite well if I think fast enough. It’s come to the point where I can block and dodge almost every hit except for the occasional straight ward stabs to the stomach, which don’t do much anyway. The battle then ends with him using the force and me cringing/convulsing at the power of his devastating ability. This is our next generation, people. Don’t worry, we’re in good hands.

The rest of the days are spent building forts, having pine cone wars, building legos, constructing castles, making volcanoes, eating food (tons, it’s all free), going to parks, and watching tons of Nickelodeon.  Spongebob Marathon. July 17th. 5 PM. Yes. The only crappy thing about the job is that Max loves playing tag. In fact, he loves it so much he wants to share this joy with others, so when we are out and about he’ll ask random kids if they want to play a game where I chase them around the surrounding area until we all get tired and keel over. I have no problem chasing Max around, but when I have to chase some random kid around a playground I begin to wonder how creepy I look in the eyes of surrounding folk. Perhaps I’m overanalyzing this, but all I have to say is when Max wants to play tag I quickly divert the conversation and bank on a child’s short attention span to take over from there. I have about a 50/50 success rate.

After I left the house on my last day or work for the week his mother texted me saying that Max just came up with 6 different ways to celebrate my belated birthday because of his infatuated and unconditional devotion to me. A child-like love right there, people. Couldn’t ask for better. I’ll keep you posted on all the shenanigans we get into the rest of the summer.

The rest of my days are spent hanging out with friends in and around Seattle, one of which is my dear friend, Chauncey. He went to go work at camp last Wednesday, but the night before we had dinner and he was telling me about something Professor Keuss had told him that afternoon. I meant to write down what was said, but alas, I did not, so here is my rough, made up version based off a hopeful memory:

“Most of us fail to see the opportunities offered before us and fail to act because we don’t understand the potentially instilled and already present phenomenon that is our capability.”

I tried sprucing up the sentence and don’t think it makes perfect sense, but it sounds cool, so there you have it. I think it’s a completely true statement as well because it causes me to ask, “How many of us continue to ponder on what to do next when really the answer is right before us?” My friend and RHMC (well not officially anymore, but I’m still going to call her that), Lindsey Goff, brought her dad, Bob, to speak at an SMC staff meeting a while back, and he’s probably the most amazing person you’ll ever meet. There is only one word to describe this man accurately and fully: Whimsical. His stories will put you in a world of fancy and wonder as you sit in awe at the adventures he’s endured and embellished. I mention Bob because he doesn’t just sit there wondering what to do next, but actually goes out and lives according to whatever God places before him. What I’m trying to convey is the idea and question, “How many of us sit there praying, thinking, and wondering what to do next when there is the chance (and a pretty good one might I add) that the prayer has already been answered, or will be answered if we finally get up and start acting?” By no means am I saying we should be hasty with our decisions, but when it comes down to it, can’t we trust that if the action we are trying to pursue falls within Micah 6:8, “He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?” and Matthew 6:33, “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you,” we are doing God’s will, and can rest assured that our endeavors will be blessed? Moreover, why can’t we seem to remember all the events that lead up to this opportunity and witness to the fact that this story God’s written for us isn’t as random and disconnected as we may think? Maybe we should stop looking so far ahead in earnest desire to know the future and look down at our feet to see if we’re still walking the line God’s laid out for us. I’m just tired of seeing my own hesitations screw me over when I knew so clearly what to do in the moment, but felt that further confirmation was needed despite my already established certainty. However, there have been times when I’ve acted far too quickly and that’s led to the most unfortunate of events, so I’d also like to emphasize that when living a life of whimsy to be aware of the ramifications of all decisions. Ugh, perhaps this is more complicated that I’m trying to make it out to be.

Sorry to end on that abrupt note, but I’m going to bed now because it’s dang late, so I’ll write about my weekend tomorrow (hopefully). It’s going to be an easy going day full of sunshine, haircuts, meetings, and work outs. And when it’s applicable I’ll be listening to my new playlist:

Sing to Jesus                                     Fernando Ortega
First Breath After Coma               Explosions in the Sky
Be Here Now                                     Ray LaMontagne
You Found Me                                 The Fray
Waiting                                                City and Colour
Dirty and Left Out                           The Almost
Come Back Down                             Lifehouse
Sweetness                                           Jimmy Eat World

Super Scripture of a Sexy Sunday:

“Thus says the LORD, ‘Let not a wise man boast of his wisdom, and let not the mighty man boast of his might, let not a rich man boast of his riches; but let him who boasts boast of this, that he understands and knows Me, that I am the LORD who exercises lovingkindness, justice and righteousness on earth; for I delight in these things,’ declares the LORD.” – Jeremiah 9:23-24

Sleep. Sleep. Sleep.

~ by Chris Kyle on June 22, 2009.

One Response to “Melodies of Life”

  1. You’re funny, you know that?

    First Breath After Coma is incredible.

Leave a Reply

 
